September 28, 2017 at 1:00 PM EDT / 12:00 PM CDT / 10:00 AM PDT / 5:00 PM GMT

This webinar will show the benefits of moving to true femtosecond machining (<200 fs) for a variety of materials and processes and will show how the switch to shorter pulses is as simple as changing the laser. Shorter pulses allow for higher peak power at a lower pulse energy, meaning the ablation threshold is reached with much less shock to the sample. This reduces microcracking while also allowing an increase in repetition rate. Most commercial/industrial laser scanning systems already support operation down to 100 fs and laser repetition rates up to 5 MHz with optimal machining parameters. In addition, the size, form factor, and ruggedness of these femtosecond sources is ideal for  integration into a industrial, medical, or scientific process.

Presented by Dr. Sterling Backus. Sterling is well known as a pioneering developer of new ultrafast laser technologies. He has been full-time with KMLabs since 2002, as well being as an Adjunct Professor in the ECE Department at Colorado State University. He received his B.S. and M.S. degrees, in Physics and a PhD in Engineering Science from Washington State University in 1996. His work in the development of high peak-and-average power ultrafast Ti:sapphire lasers, and the use of cryogenic cooling for ultrafast laser systems, forms the basis for many of KMLabs’ products. He recently was awarded the SPIE 2018 Harold E. Edgerton Award. Sterling is a Fellow of the Optical Society of America, a U.S. Army veteran, and has served on program committees for numerous conferences in the field.

Register Now